The Inheritance Games Series By Jennifer Lynn Barnes 3 Books Collection Set - Ages 12-17 - Paperback


The Inheritance Games series by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is a young adult mystery thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat from the beginning right until the very end. The series follows the story of Avery Grambs, an orphan who unexpectedly inherits a sprawling mansion from a wealthy man named Tobias Hawthorne. The catch? Avery has no idea why- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. She must first solve a series of puzzles and riddles to unlock the mansion's secrets and figure out why she, and not the other Hawthorne’s, inherited his riches. 

The first book in the series, The Inheritance Games, sets the stage for the mystery to come. Avery is a smart, determined and resourceful teenager who has a plan for a better future: Survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out to start her life. But then her fortune changes in an instant when she’s suddenly whisked away from her foster family and dropped into the luxurious mansion of a wealthy billionaire, Tobias Hawthorne, who left her the entire estate in his will. As Avery begins to explore the mansion, she quickly realises that her uncle has left her a series of puzzles and riddles that she must solve in order to claim her inheritance. The puzzles are designed to test Avery's intelligence, bravery and determination, and she must solve them within a certain timeframe or risk losing everything.

Avery is not alone in her quest to solve the puzzles and claim her inheritance. She is joined by the other Hawthorne family members, including the four rightful heirs and grandsons: the cold and calculated grandson, Grayson, charming daredevil Jameson, the kind-hearted Nash and the extremely intelligent Xander.  Each has received merely pocket change compared to Avery’s 48 billion dollars- with each convinced she is a con woman here to deceive. The one condition Avery must abide by is to live in Hawthorne House for at least one year, and she must not kick any member of the Hawthorne family out.

The puzzles are not the only danger that Avery must face. As she delves deeper into the mystery of her uncle's inheritance, she begins to uncover a dark and sinister plot that threatens not only her own life but the lives of everyone she loves. Avery must use all of her skills and knowledge to outwit the forces that are working against her and uncover the truth about her uncle's past before it's too late. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

The second book in the series is The Hawthorne Legacy. After the bombshell of an ending from the first book, heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold all the answers to all of her questions- including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire 48 billion dollar fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger rather than his own daughters and grandsons. With threats lurking around every corner and emerging adversaries who will stop at nothing to take Avery out of the picture, Avery must watch her back and the people she thinks she knows. 

The Final Gambit is the last book in the best-selling series and follows Avery once again as she must survive a few more weeks at the Hawthorne’s residence to inherit the billions to her name from the wealthy billionaire, Tobias Hawthorne. The danger is a  fact of life, and the only thing stopping her from leaving it all is her intertwined connection with the Hawthorne brothers. As the clock ticks down further and further, Avery is seconds closer to becoming the richest teenager on the planet, but trouble arrives in the form of a visitor who needs her help- and whose presence in the Hawthorne House could change everything. With one last puzzle to solve, Avery and the Hawthorne brothers are drawn into yet another perilous game against an unknown and powerful player. 

The Inheritance Games series is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the very end. With each new book, Avery and her friends face new challenges and obstacles, and they must work together to overcome them. The series is full of intense action and suspense, as well as moments of heartwarming friendship and camaraderie.

The writing is sharp and engaging, and the characters are well-developed and relatable. Avery is a strong and determined protagonist who is easy to root for, and the supporting characters are all unique and interesting in their own right. The series is full of interesting plot twists and surprises that will keep you guessing, and the final reveal is truly satisfying.

Title In This Set:

  1. The Inheritance Games
  2. The Hawthorne Legacy
  3. The Final Gambit

    Description from the publisher:

The Inheritance Games

She came from nothing.

Avery has a plan: keep her head down, and work hard for a better future. Then an eccentric billionaire dies, leaving her almost his entire fortune. And no one, least of all Avery, knows why.

They had everything.

Now she must move into the mansion she's inherited. It's filled with secrets and codes and the old man's surviving relatives - a family hell-bent on discovering why Avery got 'their' money.

Now there's only one rule: the winner takes all.

Soon she is caught in a deadly game that everyone in this strange family is playing. But just how far will they go to keep their fortune?

The Hawthorne Legacy

One step forward.

Avery thought that solving the riddle left by billionaire Tobias Hawthorne would reveal why he left her - a complete stranger - his entire fortune.

Two steps back.

But as the cryptic clues tale, an unexpected twist, and the handsome and enigmatic Hawthorne grandsons continue to pull her in different directions, Avery can't help but wonder who she can really trust and who is just looking out for themselves.

What happens when the truth just hides more secrets?

Soon Avery realizes this game is no longer just about money and power. Now she's playing for her life.

The Final Gambit

One last game.

Against all odds, Avery has survived nearly a year of secrets, schemes and love lost and found at Hawthorne House. She's weeks away from fulfilling the terms of Tobias Hawthorne's will and inheriting his billions.

One more player.

Avery thinks she knows all the family secrets, but when a familiar face arrives with shocking news and a plea for help, it's clear there is one last puzzle to solve.

One final twist.

Soon, Avery and the Hawthorne brothers are drawn into a last deadly game against an unknown and powerful opponent.