Ember Quartet by Sabaa Tahir 4 Books Collection Set - Ages 13 years and up - Paperback


The Ember Quartet is a series of four young adult fantasy novels by Sabaa Tahir that has captured the hearts and imaginations of readers around the world. The quartet consists of An Ember in the Ashes, A Torch Against the Night, A Reaper at the Gates, and A Sky Beyond the Storm. Each book builds upon the previous one to create a rich and detailed world filled with unforgettable characters, high-stakes drama, and epic battles between good and evil.

The first book in the series, An Ember in the Ashes, introduces readers to a world inspired by ancient Rome, where the brutal Martial Empire rules over the land with an iron fist. The story follows two main characters: Laia, a member of the oppressed Scholar class, and Elias, a young soldier of the ruling class who secretly dreams of escaping his life as a Mask, a ruthless and feared warrior. When their paths cross, they are thrust into a dangerous game of political intrigue and forbidden romance, with their fates and the fate of their world hanging in the balance.

The second book, A Torch Against the Night, picks up where the first left off, with Laia and Elias on the run from the Empire and facing even greater challenges and dangers. As they journey across the land, they must confront their own fears and weaknesses, as well as the machinations of their enemies, who are determined to capture or kill them both. Meanwhile, a new threat emerges from the shadows, one that could destroy everything they hold dear.

The third book, A Reaper at the Gates, continues the story with even more twists and turns. Laia and Elias must navigate a web of alliances and betrayals as they fight to save their world from the forces of darkness. Along the way, they are joined by a host of unforgettable characters, including Helene, a loyal soldier of the Empire who is forced to make difficult choices, and Musa, a wise and powerful djinn who may hold the key to their salvation.

Finally, in the fourth and final book, A Sky Beyond the Storm, the series reaches its thrilling conclusion. As the armies of the Empire and the rebels prepare for their final showdown, Laia, Elias, and their friends must confront their greatest fears and make the ultimate sacrifice in order to save their world. With the fate of humanity hanging in the balance, the Ember Quartet reaches its epic and unforgettable conclusion.

One of the greatest strengths of the Ember Quartet is its characters. From Laia and Elias to Helene and Musa, each character is fully realized and complex, with their own motivations, strengths, and weaknesses. Tahir does an incredible job of bringing these characters to life, making readers care deeply about their struggles and rooting for them to succeed.

Another key aspect of the series is its world-building. Tahir has created a rich and detailed world inspired by ancient Rome, with its own history, mythology, and political systems. From the gladiatorial arenas to the magical djinn, the world of the Ember Quartet is full of wonder and danger, and Tahir describes it all with vivid and evocative prose.

The plot of the series is also a major draw. Each book builds upon the previous one, creating a complex and multi-layered story filled with surprises and twists. From political intrigue to epic battles, the Ember Quartet has it all, and Tahir keeps readers on the edge of their seats from beginning to end.

Overall, the Ember Quartet is a must-read for any fan of young adult fantasy. With its unforgettable characters, rich world-building, and thrilling plot, it is a series that will stay with readers long after they have finished the final page. Whether you are a long-time fan of fantasy or new to the genre. 

Titles In This Set:

  1. An Ember in the Ashes
  2. A Torch Against the Night
  3. A Reaper at the Gates
  4. A Sky Beyond the Storm

Description from the publisher:

An Ember in the Ashes

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. When Laia’s grandparents are brutally murdered, and her brother arrested for treason by the empire, the only people she has left to turn to are the rebels. But in exchange for their help in saving her brother, they demand that Laia spy on the ruthless Commandant of Blackcliff, the Empire’s greatest military academy. Should she fail, it’s more than her brother’s freedom at risk . . . Laia’s very life is at stake. There, she meets Elias, the academy’s finest soldier. But Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined – and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

A Torch Against the Night

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt Elias and Laia as they flee the city of Serra. Laia and Elias are determined to break into the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison to save Laia’s brother, even if, for Elias, it means giving up his last chance at freedom. They will have to fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene ― Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike. Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own ― one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape . . . and kill them both.

A Reaper at the Gates

The Blood Shrike, Helene Aquilla, is assailed on all sides. Emperor Marcus, haunted by his past, grows increasingly unstable, while the Commandant capitalizes on his madness to bolster her own power. As Helene searches for a way to hold back the approaching darkness, her sister's life and the lives of all those in the Empire hang in the balance. Far to the east, Laia of Serra knows the fate of the world lies not in the machinations of the Martial court but in stopping the Nightbringer. But while hunting for a way to bring him down, Laia faces unexpected threats from those she hoped would aid her and is drawn into a battle she never thought she'd have to fight. And in the land between the living and the dead, Elias Veturius has given up his freedom to serve as Soul Catcher. But in doing so, he has vowed himself to an ancient power that will stop at nothing to ensure Elias's devotion – even at the cost of his humanity.

A Sky Beyond the Storm

The long-imprisoned jinn are on the attack, wreaking bloody havoc in villages and cities alike. But for the Nightbringer, vengeance on his human foes is just the beginning. At his side, Commandant Keris Veturia declares herself Empress and calls for the heads of any and all who defy her rule. At the top of the list? The Blood Shrike and her remaining family. Laia of Serra, now allied with the Blood Shrike, struggles to recover from the loss of the two people most important to her. Determined to stop the approaching apocalypse, she throws herself into the destruction of the Nightbringer. In the process, she awakens an ancient power that could lead her to victory – or to an unimaginable doom. And deep in the Waiting Place, the Soul Catcher seeks only to forget the life – and love – he left behind. Yet doing so means ignoring the trail of murder left by the Nightbringer and his jinn. To uphold his oath and protect the human world from the supernatural, the Soul Catcher must look beyond the borders of his own land. He must take on a mission that could save – or destroy – all that he knows.