The All Souls Trilogy 3 Books Collection Set by Deborah Harkness - Fiction - Paperback


The All Souls Trilogy is a captivating series of books written by Deborah Harkness, which includes A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, and The Book of Life. Set in a world where witches, vampires, and daemons exist alongside humans, the series follows the story of Diana Bishop, a historian and witch who stumbles upon a mysterious book in Oxford's Bodleian Library, which sets her on a dangerous journey to uncover the secrets of her past and the true nature of the supernatural world.

The first book, A Discovery of Witches, introduces us to Diana Bishop, a witch who has tried to suppress her magical powers and lead a normal life as a historian. However, her life takes a drastic turn when she accidentally discovers an enchanted manuscript that attracts the attention of witches, vampires, and daemons. Diana soon finds herself caught up in a dangerous world of supernatural politics, intrigue, and forbidden love, as she begins to unravel the secrets of the manuscript and the true extent of her own powers.

The second book, Shadow of Night, takes us back in time to Elizabethan England, where Diana and her vampire lover, Matthew Clairmont, travel to find a powerful witch to help Diana learn how to control her magic. As they navigate the treacherous world of the past, they encounter historical figures such as Queen Elizabeth I, William Shakespeare, and Christopher Marlowe, and become embroiled in a dangerous plot that threatens to change the course of history.

The final book, The Book of Life, brings the series to a stunning conclusion, as Diana and Matthew return to the present day to face their greatest challenge yet. With their lives and the fate of the supernatural world at stake, they must find a way to defeat their enemies and protect the ones they love, as they discover the true meaning of family, loyalty, and sacrifice.

What sets The All Souls Trilogy apart from other paranormal romance series is the depth and richness of its world-building. Harkness has created a complex and believable world where witches, vampires, and daemons exist in a delicate balance with humans, and where history and science are interwoven with magic and mythology. The attention to detail and historical accuracy in the series is impressive, and Harkness weaves real historical events and figures seamlessly into the narrative, making the books both educational and entertaining.

Another standout feature of the series is its characters. Diana and Matthew are compelling and multi-dimensional protagonists, with flaws and strengths that make them relatable and endearing. The supporting cast is equally well-developed, with each character having their own unique backstory, motivations, and personalities. The relationships between the characters are also a highlight of the series, as they navigate the complexities of love, family, and friendship in a world where trust is a rare commodity.

The All Souls Trilogy is a must-read for fans of paranormal romance, historical fiction, and fantasy. Harkness's writing is immersive and engaging, and the series is a perfect blend of romance, action, and intrigue. The books are also suitable for readers of all ages, with themes that are both timeless and universal.

Overall, The All Souls Trilogy is a masterpiece of storytelling that will captivate readers from start to finish. With its unforgettable characters, intricate world-building, and thrilling plot, it is a series that will stay with readers long after they have turned the final page. Whether you are a fan of the genre or just looking for a great story to escape into, The All Souls Trilogy is not to be missed.

Titles in This Set:

  •  A Discovery of Witches
  •  Shadow of Night
  • The Book of Life

Description from the Publisher: 

A Discovery of Witches
In this tale of passion and obsession, Diana Bishop, a young scholar and a descendant of witches, discovers a long-lost and enchanted alchemical manuscript, Ashmole 782, deep in Oxford’s Bodleian Library. Its reappearance summons a fantastical underworld, which she navigates with her leading man, vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont. When historian Diana Bishop opens a bewitched alchemical manuscript in Oxford’s Bodleian Library it represents an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordinary life. Though descended from a long line of witches, she is determined to remain untouched by her family’s legacy. She banishes the manuscript to the stacks, but Diana soon realises it is somewhat impossible to hold the world of magic at bay any longer.

Shadow of Night
Picking up from A Discovery of Witches’ cliffhanger ending, Shadow of Night takes Diana and Matthew on a trip through time to Elizabethan London, where they are plunged into a world of spies, magic, and a coterie of Matthew’s old friends, the School of Night. Diana Bishop, Oxford scholar and reluctant witch, and the handsome geneticist and vampire Matthew Clairmont; together they found themselves at the centre of a supernatural battle over an enchanted manuscript known as Ashmole 782. As the search for Ashmole 782 deepens and Diana seeks out a witch to tutor her in magic, the net of Matthew’s past tightens around them. They are drawn to one another despite long-standing taboos, and in pursuit of Diana’s spellbound powers, the two embark upon a time-walking and dangerous journey.

The Book of Life
Bringing the magic and suspense of the All Souls Trilogy to a deeply satisfying conclusion, this highly anticipated finale went straight to #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. After travelling through time in Shadow of Night, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. Diana and Matthew time-travel back from Elizabethan London to make a dramatic return to the present, facing new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home, Sept-Tours, they reunite with the beloved cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches, with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency.